When You’ve Got It All Wrong….

 

It’s pretty much a given that Moza Hurt had a daughter named Patience.  He mentions her and her twin sister in his will dated 15 Dec 1791:

I Moza Hurt of Halifax County being in perfect health both of body mind, sence and memory thanks be to God for the same.  Yet calling to mind the uncertain state of this transitory life and that it is appointed for all flesh once to die, do order constitute and ordain this my last will and testament.  It is my will and desire that all my just debts be honestly paid by my executors hereafter named and as touching such worldly goods wherewith it hath be pleased God to bless me I do order give and dispose of in manner and form following:

Item: I give and bequeath to my son Philemon Hurt the land whereon he now lives containing two hundred and five acres to him and his heirs forever.

Item:  I give and bequeath to my son, James Hurt, the land whereon he now lives in Campbell County containing by several surveys about 617 acres be the same more or less, to him and his heirs forever. And whereas each and every daughter heretofore married has had a horse bridle and saddle or something  except my daughter Patience who is yet lacking a feather bed and furniture a cow and calf, it is my will and desire that she and also my daughter Prudence my Daughters have equal donations as near as possible and farther should it  wit, Patience and Prudence Hurt, then and in that case my executor is hereby discharged from that duty.

Item:  I give and bequeath to my daughter Sara Prewitt two Negroes to wit Job a Negro boy and Amy a negro girl to her and her heirs forever and further it is my will that she have no more of my estate in no pretence whatsoever but should Byrd Prewitt, husband of my daughter  Sarah or any of his heirs forever to claim on more of my estate than the said Job and Amy or any  dissolve with the ? of my estate to be divided as hereafter mentioned and that he she or they so claiming have one shilling sterling paid to them out of my estate by executors and no more.

All the rest and residue of my estate whether real or personal it is my will and desire should be equally divided amongst all my children without exception except my daughter Sarah already excepted and whereas my poor daughter Jane is already departed this life it is my will that the  part of my estate falling to her proportion be equally divided amongst her then  other of my children having issue should die before the division of my estate, and should any my children die in their non age or without issue lawfully begotten then it is my will that their part of my estate shall desolve to the them and to them and their heirs forever. But whereas by the tender indulgence and earnest importunity of my wife in the year 1763 I believe I made a Deed of Life of sundry of my Negroes to my then four children Jane, Betty,Philemon and Sarah Hurt, now should each or any of my said children presume to claim by virtue of deed as they have given from under their hands and seals to the contrary  the same being recorded in Campbell County Court and whereas farther some years low and also to Michael Prewitt, Jr. and Betty his wife a Negro girl named Phillis, now should any my children aforesaid or their heirs claim by virtue said deed :or by virtue said loans they having had peaceable provision then and in either lease it is my will that he she or they so claiming shall be paid one shilling sterling out of my estate by my executors and no more; whether they might receive by law or not.  ? it is my will and desire at my decease that my negroes are not only bought together for and appraisement but also for a division it is my will also that those who has had the greatest trouble in raising Negro children should have the preference on their choice.

I do appoint my son Philemon and my son James Hurt my whole and soul executors of this my last will and testament hereby resolving and disannulling all other will or wills heretofore by  whereof I have hereunto set my hand I afforded my seal this 15th day of December annodom One thousand seven hundred and ninety-one.

Signed Sealed and Acknowledged in presence of us: William Mann, Stith Harrison, Robert Mann, Polly Mann

He calls her Patience Hurt.  It is also well known that A Patience Hurt married Samuel Hubbard in Halifax County, on 31 Oct 1791.  Many Hurt researchers claim that this Patience Hurt was the daughter of Moza.

 

I believe they are wrong:  Here’s why:

First off, there is this record at Ancestry.com

Name:
Patience Hurt

Gender:
Female

Marriage Date:
31 Oct 1791

Marriage Place:
Halifax, Virginia

Father:
Wm. Hurt

Spouse:
Samuel Hubbard

FHL Film Number:
31918

Reference ID:
P23

Notice that this Patience’s father is listed as William Hurt, not Moza?  Secondly, If Samuel and Patience were wed in October, then why does her father’s will dated December still have her as Patience Hurt and not Patience Hubbard?
This is important to me, because I am a descendant of Moza Hurt.  And I am trying to prove decendancy to Samuel and Patience Hubbard.  If it turns out that I am descended from Samuel Hubbard, it will be important to me who Patience’s real father was.  I believe it was William Hurt, not Moza.

This is just one of those times where analyzing all the records and not just looking at indexes would have proven the line differently.  I found a printed volume from 1935 stating Patience Hurt Hubbard was the daughter of Moza Hurt, so this mistake has been around for a very long time. Hopefully in the future others will look at the marriage and question this family line, just like I did.

This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When You’ve Got It All Wrong….

  1. m3isme says:

    Is it possible that Moza and William are the same man? My husband goes my his middle name, but the government has him listed by his first name, could lead to confusion for our descendants…

  2. generationsgoneby says:

    It is and I haven’t ruled that out, though every record I have seen for Moza has him as Moses, Moza, etc. There is also a William in the same area. I have wondered if they were related and the daughters were named after an ancestress named Patience. But that is always something you have to keep in mind. When we bought our house, we had to sign a document listing every legal name we had ever used. Wish my ancestors had had to do that.
    Hope everything is going good with you guys!

Leave a Reply

