Aren’t you supposed to sleep late?

And other things about teenagers I don’t understand…

Our last day of school was Thursday, so I have my whole summer planned. Mondays are house cleaning day. The sooner we get it done, the sooner we play.

Tuesdays mornings before the kids get up is cemetery page making hour, Wednesday morning before they get up is genealogy hour. We swim each day from 10-12 and from 1-3. Life was supposed to have a rhythm. I’d get up at 7:30, have me time. They’d get up at 10 and we’d have them time.

Reality hit Friday morning. DD 11 had two friends spend the night. At 2:00 am, I threatened to turn the electricity to her room off if she didn’t shut up and go to bed. At 7:30 when the alarm went off, I had a massive migraine. One of those where I take my medicine and go back to bed. But already I heard giggling from the computer room. Had they really stayed up all night, quietly, or had they managed to wake up at 6:30 as usual after only 4 hours of sleep?!?

Didn’t matter. I took the meds, and turned back over. At 9:30 they dared to enter my room. I gave in and let them swim at 10. Just because they were outside and their noise was just too big for my small house (around 2800 sq feet small-only another migrainer would understand).

What happened to sleeping in during summer. What happened to the lazy, hazy days of summer. What happened to me time?
Glad to say today I am feeling better and they did sleep in. Of course, they were at another friend’s house so it didn’t matter, but maybe there’s hope yet.

Even my teenage son was up at 6:45. The same one who gets out of bed and walks straight to his car each morning on the way to school. He keeps clean clothes in the car to change if the ones he slept in don’t pass his friend’s smell test.

What’s this world coming too?

Leave a Reply

