Are you genealogy superstitious?

I have a certain routine to my morning. Get up, get dressed, fix toast, turn on computer. Read email while I eat breakfast. Then I read the forum for my genealogy software, The Master Genealogist, then I read the Tennessean Obituaries and the Daily News Journal Obituaries since my distant cousins live in those areas. This allows me to keep up with deaths of distant cousins that I wouldn’t hear about otherwise.

Then after I have made sure no one I know is there, I will start my day.

UNLESS:

My kids are sick, came home late, my mother or in-laws are sick, or we just had a death in the immediate family. Then I feel creepy looking for someone who died. I know it’s weird. But I just can’t bring myself to use a good genealogy tool like obits if one of my own isn’t feeling well, or might be hurt.

Take recently when my oldest two came home really late from a movie without calling to say they were alive. They got home at 2:30 am, and I was a mess. Couldn’t look at the obits for a week afterwards. If any of my distant cousins died that week, they went totally unnoticed.

I was that same way when my father died. I did genealogy late at night while I set up with him, but I could not bring myself to look at the obits pages.

What is it that causes this sort of superstition? I am not afraid of black cats. Will step on a crack, and my mother’s back is fine. Though she does complain of knee problems.

What about you? Are their times when you can’t deal with someone else’s death, even for genealogical purposes? Do you have any other genealogy superstitions?

2 thoughts on “Are you genealogy superstitious?

  1. […] Are you genealogy superstitious? By generationsgoneby Then I read the forum for my genealogy software, The Master Genealogist, then I read the Tennessean Obituaries and the Daily News Journal Obituaries since my distant cousins live in those areas. This allows me to keep up with deaths of … Generations Gone By’s Weblog – https://generationsgoneby.wordpress.com […]

  2. I never really thought of it as a superstition, but while hunting in cemeteries for ancestors gravestones, I tend to introduce myself to the ancestor before I take a photograph of their resting place.

    I think it started with my mother’s father, who died long before I was born. When I finally tracked down his stone a few years ago, I walked up to it and said, “Hi, I’m Elroy. I’m your grandson.” I think I’ve been doing it ever since, though not always out loud.

Leave a Reply

