September 11th-Seven years later

My ancestors owned land on Manhattan Island before it was Manhattan Island. Two years ago I got to visit New York again and went to the area where they supposedly lived. It was so much fun to walk around dreaming of them living on that very spot, though the area is a little more inhabited now than it was then. We also took the tour of Ground Zero and although it was beginning to look a lot better than it did when we visited the first time, you still got that sense of being on hallowed ground.

As our country nears the 7th anniversary of 9/11/01, my heart and prayers goes out to the family’s affected by the attacks on the Twin Towers, the Pentagon, and in that lonely field. To the brave men and women who lost their lives that day trying to save their fellow men and women. To the children who will grow up without a parent or even two.

No one can enter the area outside the Twin Towers site and look into what once was office buildings and not feel something. It just moves you. There was a man there that day telling how he’d worked in the buildings and how now he felt it was his calling to tell his story so that no one would ever forget what happened that day. He told our school kids about how he was late to work that day because he had to take his son to school and how that saved his life. I wanted to hug him and tell him thank you for bearing his soul to our kids so that they would know the sacrifice of so many mommies and daddies that day.

I am sure there will be memorials on Thursday marking the anniversary. They won’t heal the pain and the loss of the families, but they will help those who lived in New York, who were on those planes, who worked at the Pentagon to begin to heal.

Yes, my ancestors once owned land on Manhattan Island. I walked the roads that weren’t even built when they lived there. I tried to imagine it as wilderness and what it was like for them to travel by boat to this new land. They and my other brave ancestors after traveled that dangerous voyage, and worked hard to give their children a better life than they had. Each generation after did their very best to give me what I have today. Like those that lost their lives on September 11, 2001, I will not forget my ancestors who lived and died, so that I could have so much more.

Leave a Reply

