It would have ben nice to have been nominated…

I never had any doubts that my children would ever nominate me for mother of the year. After all I have always insisted that they keep their rooms clean and that I meet the person they are dating before the night of the date. If I want to run a background check on the boy who wants to take my teenage daughter to a dark movie theater with no adult supervision for two hours, that’s my business, but it’s going to take a little longer than 5 minutes.

But I never dreamed that the thing that would drop me in the mom polls lower than Brittany Spears would be…. I didn’t wake them up for Church Sunday morning. Yup, you read that correctly. #1 and #2 didn’t get home until 2 am Sunday from a band competition. #3 had has a busy day with a sleepover, and then a company picnic with a friend, so I decided they needed the rest, and I let them sleep in Sunday morning. Dad and I went to church as usual. (#2 did come later on her own)

Now no one is speaking to me. I always knew that I’d never make it as mom of the year. First, there’s my insistence that they eat fresh fruits and veggies at dinner. Then my insistence that they bath at least twice a week. And if that didn’t get me, I was sure my insistence on flossing would do me in. But never in a million years did I dream the thing that would make my kids stop talking to me altogether would be letting them sleep late and miss Sunday School.

It would have been nice to have been nominated…

Leave a Reply

