Taking a break from Renovation

I actually slept in today. Well, I awoke at my usual time, but then dozed late. πŸ™‚

Hubby finished the first part of the grouting last night and so I spent part of the morning scrubbing the tiles to get the film off. And I finished painting the bottom part of the wall where I wasn’t quite done. I still need to do over the cabinet, but I need the ladder for that and wasn’t that motivated. πŸ™‚

#2 and #3 and I went to Walmart to get a few things I needed still. Outdoor mats so that hopefully less dirt will get tracked in from outside. Another support bar for the shelf over the drier. And curtains for the window. Didn’t find any curtains that appealed, but the girls found clothes that appealed, so it didn’t matter much, since that sent me over budget. I started to fuss, but then I realized I had paid off the credit card today, so we had the money, and they were buying winter jackets, so it was a necessary purchase. #3 got some cute pajama pants, and those will come in handy this winter for lounging around the house, so I let them have their fun. After all, I spent more on outdoor mats that really none of us get enjoyment out of. πŸ˜‰

Now I am supposedly doing my Wednesday chores. Mostly on Wednesday I do laundry, so I am really just straightening up from all the renovation, and having kids at home. Not really motivated to do a real good job. But Hubby plans on putting the washer and drier back in tonight, so I will probably really get into it once he gets home and does that. Seems silly to move dirty clothes from one room to another and that’s basically what I am doing as I straighten is pick up dirty dishes, clothes, and then vacuuming and dusting.

I find it so funny that when I work, I keep the house immaculate. You could eat out of my bathrooms. Yet I have been home for nearly two weeks and haven’t really done any cleaning at all, unless you count the painting and tiling. I have only ran the dishwasher twice. The kids have been using paper plates, and we have been washing glasses on an as needed basis. Of course, I wash pans as I cook, and unfortunately we have eaten out a little too often. Seems I am much more organized and motivated when it’s necessary. When I have long stretches of time, I tend to just piddle.

Mount laundry isn’t looking all that bad. I don’t intend to stack up all the sheets, comforters, kids clothes into one big pile though. I will start with #2, since today is her day and do her sheets and comforters, her colored clothes, and then one load of towels. Once those are done, if I am not exhausted, I will work on some of the laundry that should have been done earlier in the week. Since I am off until Monday, I should easily get caught up. Thankfully no one has gotten a stomach bug or the flu. πŸ™‚

Hubby will hopefully finish up the rest of the room by the weekend and we can get shelves and coat racks, etc back on the wall. Looking forward to some normality.

Leave a Reply

