Genealogy Conference

I just got home from the genealogy conference on DNA held by Megan Smolenyak Smolenyak. The Huntsville Public Library hosted this event, and I can tell you it was worth every penny. Megan did one hour on YDNA, an hour on other types of DNA tests, and hour on researching the living, and another hour on RootsTelevision. Now I have always been a big fan of Roots Television, so I am thankful for a reason to give it a plug. It was a really good seminar and I am exhausted. I know she has to be. My only regret about the whole program is she didn’t show The Socks to America video. It is by far my favorite Roots Television series.

If you have a chance to hear her speak on DNA, especially if you are like me and really aren’t sure what all the hubbub is about, let me HIGHLY recommend that you do so. I am still out on whether it will help my one brick wall which is my maternal great great great grandmother, but I can definitely see where it might help on my paternal line. I might be looking for a cousin near me to take a YDNA test someday really soon. 🙂

I got some great new books to read on using DNA to trace my family tree. And some recommendations on a few websites even I didn’t know about.

I am really working towards my genealogy challenge goal as well. I need just three more sources to hit that 3000 mark! I got so tired last night I couldn’t even think so I had to stop 3 marriages from my goal. Maybe with those new sites, I will be able to hit that 3000 mark.

It was fun to have a day off from being mom, renovator, wife. I got to hang with people who can make entire conversations on cemeteries, or census records.

3 thoughts on “Genealogy Conference

  1. I’m the gal who made “Socks to America” and I’m honored that it’s your fave! I had SO much fun making it, and am actually planning a sequel. I also do a free genealogy online radio show called The Genealogy Gems Podcast at http://www.GenealogyGems.TV and you can also get it in iTunes. Would love to have you take a listen. You can also search Genealogy Gems in YouTube to find my video channel full of my videos. Thanks again! Lisa Cooke

  2. Lisa,

    I am a BIG fan of Genealogy Gems. You are on my podcast and I get your blog! I am so honored to have you reading my blog.

    I will be looking forward to the sequel. I sent it to all my friends when it first aired. It has to be the funniest video ever.

    I am behind on my podcast listening. They are a great way to pass the time on the way to work and I can usually get half on the way there, and the other half on the way home. From the very first one, I was totally addicted to the idea.

    If you read the whole blog, you’d see the post where I talked about getting my exercise in the pool while listening to podcasts. Lost a little weight this summer walking in the pool and learning new research ideas.

    I will be watching the blog to see when the socks sequel comes out. Let me know and I will blog about it when it does.

Leave a Reply

