Sock-a-thon

We all have this issue. Mounds of unmated socks. Last Christmas I had three laundry baskets of socks without mates. It took hours to mate socks and no one wanted to do it, so I took the liberty of tossing all three baskets. Now if anyone can come up with a charity that uses old socks, I will gladly recycle, but frankly how many sock puppets does one family with three teenagers really need?

This year, okay today, I decided it was time to do the toss again. All the laundry is caught up, so socks without mates now aren’t going to find any anytime soon. I only had about half a laundry basket, but out they went. The kids will get new socks for Christmas.

Believe me it is so liberating to not have to hunt through several baskets of socks trying to find a mate, that probably died a slow death last summer after being left by the pool, or at a friends sleepover.

So now I have 6 socks in my basket. I am pretty sure they had matches last week, so they are probably going to come through the wash. Sometimes the kids use the laundry room baskets or mine and dad’s so these 6 are getting another week reprieve.

Now I know those of you who recycle and reuse paper towels are freaking out that I would toss socks. But let’s look at the economics of keeping mismated socks. One let’s use the current minimum wage of $6.55 an hour. I spend about 15 minutes a day mating socks when the sock basket is full. So that’s 5 days, times 15 minutes times $6.55=$8.18 a week that I am spending just folding socks. Now figure that if I have no extra socks, I spend about 30 seconds a day folding socks, which is .27 a week. Now that might not seem like that big a deal to most of you, but figure my nearly $8 a week savings or around $415 a year and that really adds up. Now granted no one is going to pay a SAHM for saving time folding socks. Nor do I think SAHMs are worth just minimum wage, but you get the idea.

So the next time you find yourself with a mound of socks, none of which match–Toss them, toss the guilt. Buy the kids new socks for their birthday and point out they would have gotten the IPOD, but they keep losing socks and at $415 a year they are wasting a lot of your money. They won’t have a clue what you mean, but you’ll fell smug knowing that you saved big bucks on the IPOD. 😉

2 thoughts on “Sock-a-thon

  1. You could just buy a few big bags of white socks, and then they would always match, but then you wouldn’t have an excuse for not buying 3 32 Gigabyte iPod Touches 🙂

    I love your blog, it almost always gives me a chuckle…

  2. Thanks Glenn. Glad someone likes the things I babble about. Here in the south we have red clay. Those white socks would be multi-colored orange in two weeks.
    I remember as a kid wearing basketball socks. They would slide down and then get dirty and you’d have orange strips up your leg.

Leave a Reply

