Coming at 11:00…

Don’t you hate it when TV stations do that. They’ll tell you there’s some vital food in your pantry that could kill you and there will be details at 11:00 on the news. Eleven p.m. and it’s now 4 p.m. and I am standing in front of the pantry trying to decide what to fix for supper, and something in there could be fatal…

Well, I am working on a big mystery post about my genealogy and I will need your help, but well, it’s not finished yet. So you are getting the teaser now. 🙂 I am trying to get as many of the documents together as possible, so that you can help me with the mystery. The reason I am writing this and not that post, is I can’t find my camera, and one of the most important documents is on microfilm. So while I try and find the camera, you get the teaser. But I promise it is coming soon.

In the meantime, I am trying to clean out my closet. We have to store our decorations in our closet, because there just isn’t anywhere else to do it downstairs and they have to be in cool air, so our closet gets a little overwhelmed by the holidays with boxes coming down, boxes going up, and I also (shh, don’t tell the kids) hid presents in there too, so between the presents and boxes, and clothes that don’t fit, and a box of dolls that #3 decided had to go out of her room in November, the floor of my closet is a little crowded, and my wardrobe choices (what I can reach from the doorway) have become a little limited. So I decided that this weekend I would work a little each day on decluttering, and organizing my closet. I already got rid of one garbage bag of clothes that frankly are just exhausted from being worn. When you pay $3 for a t-shirt, you don’t expect it to last 5 years. So I had to clean out a great deal, which is fine, because I found two white t-shirts that I have only worn a few times that got pushed to the back. Hubby sorts his clothes by type and is adamant that they be sorted as they are hung up and he never has the issues that I have with finding stuff, so I decided I am going to sort pants from tops and start being like him and making myself sort them as they are put away. Hopefully this will insure that I wear everything and not a select few. I have capris for warm days, so right now they are just taking up space. Since our weather can go from 23 degrees to 82 degrees in a matter of hours, I never trade out clothes by season. I may wear shorts today and a parka tomorrow. I have some nice pants that have to be ironed I am leaving for now, but if I don’t make myself iron and wear them, they may go in a month or so. I like wash and wear. No dry clean, no iron.

I also have some clothes that are way too small. I have been holding onto them in case someone discovers a sweetener that makes you lose weight. (Like 10th grade of high school small, lots of weight). But I decided that I was going to let them go, because someone else could be wearing them while they are still in style.

In between, I’ll be working on that mystery post so you guys can help me decide what really happened….

News at 11.

4 thoughts on “Coming at 11:00…

  1. Isn’t it funny how long it can take you to recover from the changes that the holidays bring? I still feel like I’m tweaking things to get them “back” to normal, but it is probably just a new normal now that Charming is living in the dorms and has made it clear he won’t be living here after college (I guess summer will be just stopping by for a long visit?)…

    Good job on getting rid of the clothes that don’t fit. Honestly, holding on to them just brings you down and knowing someone else is wearing them can make you feel good.

    Tell us the mystery NOW.

  2. It’s coming, but don’t get too excited, it’s not that big a mystery, mainly I want some opinions. Still trying to remember where I set down my camera. I am sure I have walked past it several times in the last few days and have become so accustomed to seeing it there that I have totally overlooked it.

  3. Mine says he’s not moving back either, but I told him to take it one year at a time. At their age, they are clipping their own wings, but I want him to know the nest is still here. Once he’s flying on his own, he can still come visit. Mine can’t wait until May when he graduates. I think June is going to be a big disappointment when he sees very little change. LOL

  4. The closet is all done. I had some clothes from last summer that I had cleaned out that I was trying to decide if I wanted to make the effort to drop a size to get into. Decided that I probably will start walking again as soon as the weather warms a little more, but I will probably buy new clothes, so I decided to NOT look at those and just send them on to the thrift shop. That with the 2 1/2 bags from my closet made a good donation. Man where do all those clothes come from, I rarely shop?

    I am now down to the clothes I actually wear and the closet seems huge. We can walk all the way to the back and I am hoping Hubby will get motivated to do a little decluttering of his own. 😉

Leave a Reply

