Monday Musings…

Sorry there was no Saturday Story…

I have had a 4 day migraine, and I haven’t really felt all that great. Mom came down this weekend and dropped the bombshell that she wants to sell her house and get an apartment close to us. That’s not a bad thing, but I can’t help but feel there’s still something she’s not telling us. So she’s supposed to be talking to realtors on her end today. She’ll have to sell her house and then we’ll move what she wants to keep down here. I am not sure what brought this on, but I hope it’s just missing her grand kids, like she says and not something more serious that she hasn’t gotten the nerve to tell us yet.

#3 is sick and probably has the pneumonia her sister just got over, so she’s off to the doctor today. I have a dental appointment, so today I am taking it easy. I need to clean house and do laundry, but since I am off all next week, it is going to be a quiet, get what I can done day around here. Guess it’s a good thing I had decided to work less next year. Looks like I am going to be way busier than I ever dreamed.

The time change has got us all in a funk. We don’t do well with mornings anyway and add in losing an hour of sleep and I had some grumpy kids this morning. Even Hubby went in to work late today.

So I am moving a little slow this Monday morning. Since the doctor can’t see us until 11:30, I think I am going to take a little nap.

3 thoughts on “Monday Musings…

  1. Oh, I hope your head is better by now. We are always thrown for a loop by Spring Forward and I’m convinced it takes us a week to recover. Hope your mom isn’t having money problems she’s not telling you, or health problems. Maybe, though, she just doesn’t want the responsibility of a home any more and sees it as an opportunity to be closer to you and the kids. Hope #3 DOESN’T have pneumonia and the your dentist appt was uneventful!

  2. Oh I’m so sorry you’re sick today. I do hope you all feel better soon and that the doctor gave give you something to make you feel better!

  3. #3 had bronchitis, which I think is a catchall phrase for she’s sick, but not flu or pneumonia. They gave her some meds and sent us home. The appointment wasn’t for me, but probably should have been. I just thought I had a migraine. Wasn’t until last night that I got home and realized it was a fever too.

    We’ve been trying to get mom to move here since dad died, but she didn’t want to and she has a lot of friends and family there so we felt like she was safe and happy and here she’d be starting over with just us. But the house is getting harder and harder to care for and the taxes are eating up the savings she has, so she is ready to downsize and move closer. We found several good places for her here, but the house has to sell first. Once that is done, she can rent here and start moving what she wants to keep and then have an estate sale to get rid of that which she no longer needs. The proceeds will allow her to pay her rent and live fairly nicely probably for the rest of her life.
    It will be an adjustment, since she and I haven’t lived close for over 24 years, but the kids are excited and I am looking forward to it, though a little anxious too. If she regrets the move, she can always get an apartment there. But I don’t think she will. We have a very busy life here and she already has lots of friends at our church so I know she can be as busy or as not as she wants. The ladies at church are going to be thrilled because they just love her to death.

    For me it will be nice because I won’t have to wonder why she isn’t answering the phone or if she needs something and just isn’t saying. For the kids it will be nice because she never says no. (Did I mention I am anxious. LOL)

    Moms the world, I can’t post on your blog since I don’t have a blogger account. I tried the other day, but I don’t have a blogger account and I can’t even remember what my google account is. It’s been years since I used it.

Leave a Reply

