Yes, they are all mine…

and it’s okay. So no, I did not give birth to all of them. The one in the front seat is my middle child. Behind her is her boyfriend, and her brother, who looked enough alike people mistake them for siblings. Behind them are her sister and her best friend, who again, are so much alike, people mistake them for twins. So we get out of Bible School today and it is POURING rain. And I am soaked to the bone. I take the kids to Sonic for lunch, but I have the heat on the whole way and they are all sweating and the car is steamy from wet clothes and sweaty teenagers and so we have the windows down, and both doors open and we are singing the Bible School theme music, “it all comes back to Jesus” and having a great time. The kids are 11, 11, 17, 18, 20.

The man next to me keeps giving me the look. You know the one. The one that says “Are they all yours?” (Yes, sir they are. I did not give birth to them, but they are my heart and I love all of them). The one that says “Aren’t they a little close in age?” (Yes, sir, they are. At least my oldest two are. That was God’s decision and I happen to think He did good.)

He got his lunch and left and we laughed about the fact that he must have thought they were all siblings. They are so close you’d think they were. They fight, they love, they share, they don’t share. But today we sat in the rain, ate burgers, and sang our Bible School songs. Then we went home and took naps in the living room floor. We were all that tired.

Yes, sir, they are all mine. I am a blessed woman!

3 thoughts on “Yes, they are all mine…

  1. LOL! That sort of thing has happened to me, too. My best friend in California has 4 children: a soon-to-be 18 year old boy, a 15 year old girl, a 13 year old girl, and and 11 year old girl. I would often pack up my Suburban with all the kids…if I did that today, this is what it would look like: an 18 year old boy, an almost 18 year old boy, a 15 year old girl, two 13 year old/a boy and a girl, an 11 year old, and a 10 year old. Back when they were younger, everyone would think they were mine and that I was quite busy!

    Those times were so fun…glad you have them, too!

  2. Wow, took me a second to remember my password so I could post, lol!

    You went to Sonic today?! I’m so jealous!!!! Sounds like you had fun though.

    We have some friends and our kids are friends with their kids. So when they’re altogether, yeah, it’s a van full. People do tend to think they are all yours, you are right!

  3. Yeah, I always have a herd. LOL I am going to be lonely when they all move out. But they are great kids.

Leave a Reply

