Would you like a Twinkie with that?…

My nutritious supper tonight was two Reese’s Peanut Butter cups and a glass of Pepsi. You see I had a really late lunch. I had one of those stuffed potatoes with all the fixings around 2 pm today and I was in no way wanting a full dinner at 7 pm, so I decided to just have desert. I don’t usually just eat Reese’s Peanut Butter cups for supper. 😉 Though I have nothing against those of you who would.

I am sitting here trying to decide if I’d like to go to bed early, since I just got up from a nap, or if I’d just like to stay up for a while and do a little housework. I am exhausted today. Seems everyone I talk to today is tired. We had a very good weekend, but for some reason, I am really physically tired. I am sure my nutritional meal is going to help my energy level, once that sugar hits my bloodstream. LOL

I was able to get another cemetery online tonight. And I got some errands ran today before my nap. Plus I did get in some work and several loads of laundry. It’s not like today was a total wash. So while I didn’t get to do any genealogy today, at least someone else out there might be able to.

My book of the week is The Great Influenza: The Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague in History by John M. Barry. It’s pretty interesting, especially the parts about how the government handled quarantining (or not) based on whether it fit their needs. Makes for interesting reading in light of the current discussions on health care in this country and how information was given (or not) to the public based on whether it would “hurt moral”. We have to remember that during this great epidemic, we were also fighting a great world war. It’s a large book, and since I only manage about 6 pages a night before I fall asleep, it will probably be the book of the week for several weeks. But it’s an interesting read not only for the genealogist, but the historian, the person interested in medical history, or someone looking to learn more about influenza at a time when our nation is dealing with what could be an epidemic flu again. At times it is hard to follow with lots of scientific information that goes over my basic high school biology knowledge, but I am finding all the information on how the flu spreads, how vaccines are created, etc very fascinating. I am thankful I live in 2009 as I have stated before. Hospitals in 1919 left a lot to be desired.

So I hope everyone has a good genealogy night. I am off to read about 4 more pages before I give into this general malaise that has over come me. For some reason, I like that better than saying chronic fatigue. LOL

2 thoughts on “Would you like a Twinkie with that?…

  1. Hey, that sounds like a terrific dinner. Then again, I think home-made rice krispie bars are a good breakfast, so maybe my credibility is questionable.

    The book you’re reading sounds fascinating. At this point, I’m taking all the news reports about Swine Flu with a grain of salt.

  2. Hey, I feed mine cake occasionally. Milk, flour, eggs… whats the issue? Rice krispie bars are good for you, right, you’re just adding marshmallows, which by the way are Kosher.

    If you read the book on the great flu, you understand WHY they were so worried at first, because they had no idea how fast it would spread. Now they know, so they are no longer worried. But they had reason to be worried.

Leave a Reply

