Glee… Or not so gleeful…

I like Glee, I do. It’s a good family show and despite the fact that it has an openly gay character which goes against my Southern Baptist roots, I allow my girls to watch it. We just use that as a teaching tool to teach our family values. But last night’s episode has me let’s say with a certain undergarment in a wad.

Last night’s episode had all the Glee kids in wheel chairs, which I personally thought was great. Let teenagers empathize with a fellow classmate on how it feels to have to be in a wheelchair 24/7. Then the principal decided that the Cheerios coach had to have more kids on her squad besides her perfect elite group she had, so she did tryouts and came to one little girl with Down’s Syndrome that she put on the squad. When asked by Will’s character why she put the little girl on the team and then proceeded to treat the child the same as all the other girls, she told him to mind his own business. Cut to Sue’s character going to a group home to visit her older sister, a woman with Down’s Syndrome, that we have never met nor heard about. Now don’t get me wrong I am not upset that the sister lives in a group home. These facilities offer care and independence that are often times better than can be given at home. What I am upset about is the fact that she never once acknowledges to her co-workers she has a sister with Down’s. No pictures of her sister are in her office. Her sister, who she appears to love deeply, doesn’t exist outside that group home. She loves her, but is ashamed of her at the same time.

So let me get this straight. It is okay to be PROUD of the fact that one is gay, but one should be ASHAMED of the fact that one has a sibling with a mental or physical handicap? Seriously. Is this the message we are sending to our young people. I am so angry today I can not see straight. I know I should let this story line play out a little longer to see why Sue has never mentioned her sister before, but as Cheer coach, with a sister with Down’s, could they not have had her involved in say, I don’t know Special Olympics. Now that would have been a way to have taught teenagers about sports, about themselves, about team spirit, about community, about compassion, about doing one’s best… Let’s hope that in future episodes that is the way Sue C’s it…

One thought on “Glee… Or not so gleeful…

  1. Have I mentioned I don’t miss television?

    Superman has a sister in a group home and it is tragic because his parents have hidden her. When we tried to include her (the first few years we were married), they were so upset that they moved her and wouldn’t tell us where she was.

Leave a Reply

