My Newest Book…

I just spent two very sleepless nights reading “Going Rogue” by Sarah Palin. You may remember I wrote this post Judgemental in response to a tongue in check post I wrote about Sarah and how she ever finds a hair brush in that family of girls after a commenter attacked me as a working mom. At the time I was working 4 hours a day, two days a week. Currently I am back to being a full time stay at home mom. Personally, I don’t think that matters in this conversation, but I will put that out there for those of you who do.

I am not one to talk politics on my blog. Vote for who ever you feel can do the best job, and right now Sarah isn’t running for any office, but I found the book to be a good read, hence the two sleepless nights. That, and a migraine that made it difficult to sleep anyway. I am a prolific reader and my husband his her #2 fan, behind Todd Palin, and so he wanted her book for Christmas. He got so many books that I borrowed this one to read while he was reading one of the others. I still stand behind what I said in my other post. I think if she decides someday to run for public office, Sarah Palin can handle having 5 children and the highest office in this land. She can handle being a special needs mom and the highest office in the land (heck, as any so called “normal” child of a special needs mom will tell you, Who is better qualified for the job?) And I still stand behind what I say, that the Palin children also still have a dad that can help out when she needs him.

But that is neither here nor there, because this is a book review. There are times when I got dragged down by her explaining Alaskan politics, which I understand she did because she wanted to explain something that happened latter own. Had she written a book about herself, her family, her childhood before the VP run, I think she and John McCain might have won the White House. I found her endearing, funny, likable. I like her shout-outs to the stay at home moms who have made it possible for her to work all these years and have four active children in sports. She hasn’t forgotten the people who put her where she is today and she’s gracious enough to thank them for their hard work and dedication. I liked her commitment to our military, police and other first responders. We need someone in public service who understands these men and women put their lives on the line every single minute of every single day so that you and I can be free. I liked her writing style. She is intelligent, yet she didn’t talk down to me. I could give this book to my best friend who skipped third grade and is the most intelligent woman I know, or to my 68 year old mom who prefers to read Amish romance novels. They’d both find something to keep them reading.
She is the only person on the face of the earth that eats more meat than my husband does. This book is not for the vegetarian at heart. For those of us who eat meat at every single meal and often only meat, this wasn’t that big a deal, but she’s a meat lover and proud of the fact that her family eats what she calls “natural organic” meats. Having grown up on a farm, I fully understand. And I love me some Alaskan Salmon.

As an autobiography, this one is a good read. I just hope it’s the first chapter…

Leave a Reply

