Snow Day!

We are enjoying an unexpected snow day. The weather guys who normally scream SNOW for weeks in anticipation were saying 20% chance of rain this morning. I got up and took #3 to school with light sleet. Went to Walmart to get groceries and came out about an hour later to an inch of snow on the ground. Now for those of you that live up North, I know, that’s nothing, but here in the Deep South, that’s a huge deal. I drove home in the snow watching people slip and slide and slam on brakes going UP hills. Yes, UP hills.

I finally turned on the road we live off of and the school is on and was solid white. Schools hadn’t closed and the forecast was for it to get warmer, but I wasn’t sure what to do, but suddenly I thought about 6 hours of this stuff and I decided that going to get the girls and let them play in the snow was what I needed to do. We just don’t get snow that often. So I went and checked them out. It is now starting to melt, and maybe I did over react, but Hubby agreed that we had no way of knowing. Keep in mind, we weren’t supposed to get snow at all today. So my girls are home enjoying a snow day. I am doing a little laundry and trying to get the house clean around the desire to curl up with a good book and watch the snow.

In this age of Dopler radar and round the clock weather watchers, a freak snowstorm is just unheard of, but occasionally God likes to show us, He is still in charge, He is still in control, He is still omnipotent. And isn’t snow an awesome way to do it?!?

One thought on “Snow Day!

  1. Driving in snow conditions with people who don’t know how to drive in snow is crazy…I think you made the right decision.

Leave a Reply

