I Found Her, OR Oh My GOD!

I have been looking for Susan Markham for 20 years. Yes, 20 years and tonight I was looking at http://www.familysearch.org and I found this record:
Name: Susie Rebecca Marcum
Gender: Female
Burial Date: 12 Jun 1933
Burial Place:
Death Date: 11 Jun 1933
Death Place: Haywood Co., Tennessee
Age: 86
Birth Date: 1847
Birthplace: Tenn
Occupation:
Race: White
Marital Status: Widowed
Spouse’s Name:
Father’s Name: Kemp Parker
Father’s Birthplace: N. C.
Mother’s Name: Nancy Harper
Mother’s Birthplace: N. C.
Indexing Project (Batch) Number: B06465-7
System Origin: Tennessee-EASy
Source Film Number: 1876807
Reference Number: cn 25983
Collection: Tennessee Deaths and Burials, 1874-1955

Could it be I wondered? Could Susan be a Parker and not a Markham? So I searched the census at http://www.footnote.com, but no Kemp Parker was found. Finally I went to http://www.HeritageQuestOnline.com and searched there and I found a Kemp Parker with a daughter named Susan in 1850. But in 1870, when our Susan was supposedly living with her daughter Jennie, she isn’t living at home. So I searched http://www.familysearch.org again and I found this:
Groom’s Name: Samuel R. Markham Or Macom
Groom’s Birth Date:
Groom’s Birthplace:
Groom’s Age:
Bride’s Name: Susan R. Parker
Bride’s Birth Date:
Bride’s Birthplace:
Bride’s Age:
Marriage Date: 01 May 1867
Marriage Place: Haywood,Tennessee
Groom’s Father’s Name:
Groom’s Mother’s Name:
Bride’s Father’s Name:
Bride’s Mother’s Name:
Groom’s Race:
Groom’s Marital Status:
Groom’s Previous Wife’s Name:
Bride’s Race:
Bride’s Marital Status:
Bride’s Previous Husband’s Name:
Indexing Project (Batch) Number: M51930-1
System Origin: Tennessee-ODM
Source Film Number: 1006850
Reference Number:
Collection: Tennessee Marriages, 1796-1950

Susan Rebecca Parker, daughter of Kemp Parker and Nancy Harper, married Samuel R. Markham on 01 May 1867. They are the parents of Virginia Caldonia Markham. Now I am trying to find this young family in 1870. But that’s okay. Because I know know that Susan Rebecca Parker is my great great great grandmother! And life is just grand.

Tomorrow I will try and figure out what happened to Samuel Markham, and why Susan listed herself as single and not widowed on the 1880 census and I will start learning about my Parker and Harper families. But for now, I am so excited because I know who she was and where she went and maybe I will be able to tie up a little bit of the mystery that has always surrounded her.

As for my family, they were not impressed with my finding. Perhaps yelling Oh my God, was not a good idea at 11:30 at night. 😉

3 thoughts on “I Found Her, OR Oh My GOD!

  1. So that was you I heard! I know how exciting and wonderful and fun that was for you, especially after 20 years. Definitely an OMG moment. Congratulations!!

  2. Yup, it was me, and then about an hour later, it was me again, when I discovered my mistake and that she was living with her husband and family in Haywood COunty in 1880 at the same time my Susan was living in Wilson with her two daughters. So back to the drawing board I go. It wasn’t her after all.

  3. Hmmmm…I wondered what that loud noise was at 8:30 at night one evening last week! Now I know. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

