World War I Draft Cards To Do List

Since it Veteran’s Day Weekend and a lot of sites have free military documents, I decided it was time to complete my World War I Draft Cards.  About 6 months ago, I decided to move my Research Log to Evernote, so here is the process in which I am using to finish this task.

First you need to know something about the draft cards. They were created in three registrations.

First Registration was on June 5, 1917, was for all men between the ages of 21 and 31.  So all men born between 1886 and 1896.

Second Registration was on June 5, 1918, registered those who attained age 21 after June 5, 1917. (A supplemental registration was held on August 24, 1918, for those becoming 21 years old after June 5, 1918. This was included in the second registration.)  So men born Jun 1896-1897.

And the Third Registration was on September 12, 1918, for men age 18 through 45. (All men born between 1873 and 1900 who had not previously registered).

So the first order of business is to decide who in  your database you want to find. I decided all descendants of each of my 16 third great grandfathers would be the best.

So in The Master Genealogist, I first created a filter that looks like this:

image

That will find all males born between 1873 and 1900.  By putting the [?] in my filter, I can give it the ID number of my ancestor when I run the report.

 

Once I had a list of men, I then copy that list to Evernote:  I have to clean the list up a little since TMG doesn’t format it the way I want, but I want a list that looks like this:

entodo_checkedEady, Clarence Emmett (1882-1946) 3rd registration

entodo_checked[1]Eady, Johnny Clyde (1894-1921) 1st registration

entodo_checked[2]Eady, Hugh Lawson (1878-1968) 3rd registration

entodo_checked[3]Eady, Leon Dean (1893-1967) 1st registration

entodo_uncheckedEady, Marvin Eugene (1891-1940) 1st registration

entodo_unchecked[1]Eady, William Thomas (1878-1964)

entodo_unchecked[2]Lamb, J. Scott (1898-1970) 3rd registration

I keep several Stickies   open to help me remember what dates the registrations are:

image

Now I can start searching for each man and when I find his draft card, I want to make a note that looks like this:

image

You’ll probably notice my source citation states official record held by National Archives in Atlanta, GA. That’s because I have seen most of the ones I have there when they were first issued many years ago.  And I haven’t updated my source template to say they were viewed online at Ancestry or FamilySearch yet.  It’s on my to do list. 🙂

Now the next thing I need to do is go to TMG and enter this information into this person’s information, create a source citation, etc.

Then check him off the list.  I tag the note with “Eady Military” and “World War I”  If he happens to also be a descendant of another ancestor, then he’d get tagged with that family name as well. 

Have fun and be sure and thank a Veteran for your freedoms!

Leave a Reply

