Will-Mourning (Hudnall) Cutchin

Mourning Hudnall married Samuel Cutchin (Cuthen) most likely in the Isle of Wight County, VA where they both lived. Sometime between 1820 and 1830, Samuel and Mourning moved to Davidson County, TN.  Samuel Cutchen made his will in Davidson County, TN in December 1829 and died before November 1830, when his will was recorded.  Mourning Cuthchin made the following will 15 June 1839.  It was recorded 15 August 1841 in Davidson County, TN, so we have to assume she died sometime before August 1841. 

Note;  According to online research, Thomas died before his father’s 1830 will was probated. However, we see here that Mourning plainly wills Thomas her slave, Dinah, so he could not have died before his father’s probate was finished. Proof that the online genealogy mistook Thomas for his brother William, whom is mentioned in the will as deceased.

 

Mourning Cutchin, Deceased Recorded 15 Aug 1841

In the name of God amen.
I Mourning Cutchin of the county of Davidson and state of Tennessee Being of perfect mind and memory for which I bless my creator; and knowing the uncertainty of time and the certainty of Death and having a mind to dispose of my worldly goods it hath please God to bless me with, I have constituted and made This my last will and testament in name and form as follows
Revoking all others–
First, My will is that all my Just debts be paid out of my estate and my body buried in a decent manner at the expense of my estate.
Secondly, My will is that my son Thomas Cutchin and my Daughter Elzalina Carper have my two Negros namely Dinah and Isaac to be divided equally between them. WHat is to say it is my wish that my daughter Elzalina keep Dina with her and account to my son Thomas for half her value and that either Thomas or Elzalina keep Isaac by paying the other half his value as it is not my wish that either of two Negroes should be sold out of their families.—
Thirdly, my will is that the remainder of my property be equally divided between my two daughters Sally Proctor and Elizabeth Fly viz: My stock of horses, cattle, sheep, hogs, house hold and kitchen furniture and farming utensils, my crop and all the residue of my property not otherwise disposed of them and their heirs forever
In witness whereof I  Mourning Cutchin have hereunto set my hand and seal this fifteenth day of June one thousand eight hundred thirty nine

Signed and sealed and delivered in presents of us
John Shacklett
Charly Johnson
Mourning <her mark> Cutchin

Mourning Cutchin Page 1

 

Mourning Cutchin: will (15 June 1839). Davidson County, TN Will Book 12, Page 175-176.  Viewed online on 09 Dec 2016 at http://www.familysearch.org.&nbsp; Microfilmed copy of original record can be found in Davidson County, TN, Will Books 12-13 (1840-1846), Roll 0431, Tennessee State Library and Archives, Nashville TN.

Leave a Reply

